Patented Plants–Take 2

20170607_171502

I have talked before,  less so here, but definitely at garden club lectures quite a bit,  about patented plants.

I caution that the clubs need to know about the parentage of their plants before they propagate them for sale at their  plant sales. And I always get push back from someone who says something like “but we’re really a nonprofit,” or ” this can’t mean that I can’t divide this plant and give it to my friend,  right?”

Hello, folks, read my latest enclosure slip that I received with 2 roses last week.

These plants aren’t even patented yet–the patents are pending. And what does it say, right there, literally,  in black and white? “patent pending,” and “cannot be propagated.”

Could the growers be any clearer?

Leave a Reply

