Wordless Wednesday–The Story of a Tree

20161120_105919

I planted this tree in 1997. I bought it as a tiny sapling, on close out, the prior year. I had  originally planned to make it into a bonsai.

After a nearby dogwood showed signs of decline, I decided that I would plant the maple instead and let it grow up as the dogwood declined.

20161120_105928

I am not sure what I was thinking about when I planted it in this narrow spot. Talk about wrong place! Nevertheless, the tree has thrived and has found a way to cope.

And despite the presence of the above ground roots, don’t think that the tree is compromised. I have talked about my rock ledge many times. This is how trees in my yard have to cope. All of our trees look like this .

Leave a Reply

