Wordless Wednesday

20161021_151458

This small aster, a native, is growing out of a crack in my driveway between the driveway and a stone wall.  Above it, there are yellowing leaves of Virginia Creeper.  They should be a brilliant scarlet this time of year but the drought has affected everything.  The aster should also be about 3′ tall.

20161021_153508

One of the few small trees still performing as it should.  Notice how even the hostas beneath it are wilted. This is a witch hazel.

20161021_153432

The last of the late season hydrangeas,  this is a species paniculata grandiflora.

20161021_153947

And finally the last of the tomatoes.  These were picked October 22, definitely the latest I have ever picked tomatoes.  The variety is Sun Gold.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday

  1. Where do you live? Do you do live talks? I ask because I am chair of the program committee for my garden club . I live in West Hartford CT. From your pictures and comments I think you live in New England. Joan Martin

    On Wed, Oct 26, 2016 at 9:33 AM Gardendaze’s Blog wrote:

    gardendaze posted: ” This small aster, a native, is growing out of a crack in my driveway between the driveway and a stone wall. Above it, there are yellowing leaves of Virginia Creeper. They should be a brilliant scarlet this time of year but the drought has affected eve”

  2. Hi Joan,
    I am quite nearby to you and I do lecture quite frequently. If you click on the tabs above my photos, you will be able to see my lecture topic and a bit more about me.

    I have also tried to email you directly but it may be going into you “spam” folder.

    Karla

Leave a Reply

