I’m Too Neurotic for Succulents

20160930_160025

First, you may seem surprised to see this post tagged “house plants,”–or not after seeing the post on the rocky clay soil that I had for Wordless Wednesday last week. I can’t really grow succulents in my wet clay, although I do grow a few on the rock face that juts out of our yard.

But this is my problem. Apparently, when it comes to plants, I am a bit of a neat freak (who knew I had this bit of Spoiler-like tendency in me?)

What do I mean by that? It’s pretty simple. I only like the succulents when they’re neat and compact. As soon as they start doing what all plants do–growing–forget it. I don’t like them any more.

20160930_155951

Some of them are sort of okay. I can tolerate the rangy habit of the “pencil cactus” a bit although I gave all of mine a trim this year (they were getting too rangy and toppling the pot, even with stones to try to keep it balanced!)

20160930_160047

And “true” cactus that seem to wander all over the place are all right with me (although I am sure this would never happen in the desert!)

20160930_155958

But when this happens, I will tell you that this plant is not long for this world. I just can’t help it. I don’t like the look of it anymore.

But, as I always say, if we all liked the same thing, what a boring world we’d have!

Leave a Reply

