One of my Favorite Fall Flowers

20160920_073645

These are colchicums and they are reliable, deer proof, fall flowering bulbs. In  my garden, they come up every single fall without fail, including during the drought summers.

20160922_075056

 

Remember what I said about weeds and working in my soil? This is a patch of zoysia grass that has established in my rose garden. Rather than disrupt the bed in this hot dry summer, I have left the grass. I will remove it next spring–after a winter of moisture (I hope). More on that Wednesday.

But these bulbs even come up through zoysia, which is supposed to be resistant to weeds. That’s really saying something!

Once they open fully, people stop on the street to stare. They can’t believe what they are seeing in the fall!  It’s a great reaction.

20160922_075158

I have seen these bulbs naturalize in other places. They don’t really do it for me. I suspect it’s the heavy clay again. They’ve been here for almost 10 years. If they were going to naturalize, I suspect they would have by now.

But they also haven’t rotted away like so many other things I have planted. And that alone tells you how tough they are. If you haven’t tried them,  you are missing out on one of the joys of fall gardening!

Leave a Reply

