An Unpleasant Surprise While Transitioning the House Plants

In the fall, I try to bring the house plants back inside a few at a time (“few” being a relative term when you have over 100 plants to transition and no staff of gardeners to help you!)

20160909_100451

In the process of clearing off a table beneath this spider plant, I noticed that the table top was sticky. In brushing the plant,  I found that it, too, was sticky. A closer inspection found these.

I was shocked for several reasons.  First,  this is not the sort of plant that normally becomes infested with scale. Next, I am usually pretty good at spotting this sort of thing before it gets this out of control.  And finally,  this plant was showing no symptoms of infestation  (other than the sticky honeydew. Notice the droplets on the one leaf right below the scale? That’s classic.) But I move it once a week to water and never noticed.  Yikes!

Prior to taking the plants outside,  this plant hung above an array of succulents.  Those are some of the first to come back inside, which is how I came to find this infestation.

I have cut off all the affected parts (I think) and isolated the plant away from everything else.  No point in taking chances. If all else fails, I will compost it and simply get another.  Spider plants are great air cleaners. I need to have at least one.

But because it seems the “babies ” are the affected parts, I don’t dare root from this plant.  Far better to  cut my losses and start fresh if I need to.  Time will tell.

 

2 thoughts on “An Unpleasant Surprise While Transitioning the House Plants

Leave a Reply

