Wordless Wednesday

20160814_101431

Do you love this pot or think it’s ready for the trash? It took me a long time to accept this sort of imperfection.

The Japanese have a name for it. They call it “wabi sabi.” The nearest that I can come to understanding the concept is to describe it as lived in or lived with. I have heard it described as “imperfectly perfect ” but that doesn’t help me.

So what do you think? Would you keep this pot around? It’s one of my favorites. I guess I like imperfection.

2 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday

  1. Where can I buy an osmanthus without driving to my sister’s home in South Carolina?
    (I like your pot–I’d keep it.)

    • Hi Lorna,
      Thanks for the comment–and for reading.
      If you don’t mind small plants–they grow, although as an evergreen, they grow a little more slowly than some other plants–a great site for all kinds of unusual plants is exactly where I got this plant–Logees Greenhouse in Danielson, CT. They ship all over the country and they pack very carefully. Their web site is http://www.logees.com. I must have ordered from them 10 times this summer–at full price. I get nothing for the recommendation!

      Karla

Leave a Reply

