Wordless Wednesday–What’s Eating My Container?

It hasn’t rained–really rained–for weeks. We are running a 6″ rainfall deficit and it gets worse every day. Add to that the 90 degree temperatures (about 10 degrees above our average for this time of year) and we are dry! We aren’t California dry yet, but it’s bad.

In fact, it’s so bad that holes are appearing in all my plants. At first, I couldn’t figure out what was going on. Then I realized what was happening.  Insects that normally eat decaying soil material are now relying on living plants to sustain themselves. Nice for the insects, not so nice for me.

20160618_091215

You may remember this photo from last week’s Wordless Wednesday. I talked about it being my Pollinator Pot.

20160621_075251

But look more closely at the leaves of the coleus.

20160621_075311

The leaves of the begonia are chewed as well, although not as badly.

20160621_075258

And even this fuchsia has been eaten. Look at the petal to the rear. It’s just about gone.

Oh well. Even bugs need moisture, I guess.

2 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday–What’s Eating My Container?

  1. It happens to my plants every once in a while. It might be spider mites? Someone told me to only water in the morning, to give things a chance to dry out during the day. I also save my coffee grounds and out them i a circle around the plant (inside the pot.) There’s some spots in my garden that are worse than others, I plant mint around the plants there. If you want to do more, you can spray the leaves with a mix of 1/3 apple cider vinegar, and 2/3 water. (Don’t spray them too often.) I hope it help.

    • Hi Maria,
      Thanks for the really helpful comments. I never said what was eating those holes, did I? It’s earwigs, a very nasty looking but otherwise harmless bug. I surely don’t mind. It’s not to the point where I want to harm the bugs. After all, normally the clean up decaying plant matter. And the fuchsia is blooming. A few holes never hurt anyone.

      This will happen to me again a bit later on as well. It will be the immature katydids feeding next time. Again, I just let them eat. Maybe I am too much of a lazy gardener. But I think bugs have a right to exist too, for the most part.

      But thank you so much for your suggestions. I have some aphids on my milkweed. They don’t belong and I just might try to rid the milkweed of the aphids with a little spray. If the ladybugs haven’t come along to cleanup yet.

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Karla

Leave a Reply

