You Tell Me–Insect or Disease?

Every year about this time, this sort of damage starts showing up in my garden. I know what’s causing it, but this time I’m going to let my readers weigh in.

20160611_083430

Here is a photo of it on my ornamental yellow oregano. I thought I had removed all the oregano from the garden because this was where I first encountered this issue. So I pulled everything up.

Then the issue moved on to my black-eyed susans (rudbeckia sp.) So after dealing with it there for several years, I finally pulled most of the black-eyed susans out!

20160611_083409_001

And look! Here it is on my agastache! I guess it isn’t really finicky about plants now, is it?

20160611_083531

And since I don’t really have any more black-eyed susans, it’s decided that it likes echinacea equally well. It’s also on my kolkwitzia–but by now you get the idea.

So you tell me–what do you think? Insect or disease? I will tell you the answer Friday.

4 thoughts on “You Tell Me–Insect or Disease?

  1. I’m guessing disease/fungus?? wondering if an essential oil spray would help?… thinking of a heavily diluted spray… water in a spray bottle with a few drops of Meleauluca (tea tree) oil?

    • Hi Joy,
      I won’t spoil other readers thoughts by answering just yet but I love your creative ideas for a remedy. There was a line of products that used essential oils as treatments for awhile. I haven’t seen them around lately. My guess is that the FDA put them out of business. But the remedies were wonderful and very effective. They were called Pharm Solutions.

      But no reason we can’t make our own anti fungal solutions with essential oils. Great idea!

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Karla

Leave a Reply

