Wordless Wednesday–Pollinator Pots for Shade

20160618_091215

One Monday,  I suggested planting native plants for pollinators.  But I always take them into account when planting my containers too (which are obviously planted with annuals and not native plants ).

This container has impatiens  (surprisingly a hummingbird favorite ), fuchsia,  coleus, a begonia.  The last two are there more for color, to draw the hummingbirds,  rather than to feed them. This container gets a couple of hours of late afternoon sun.

20160618_091247

This is a plant I wouldn’t be without for my hummingbirds.  In fact,  if I am deadheading it, they often fly around agitatedly until I am finished . The color on this photo is not the best. It’s actually a deeper red flower. This is fuchsia ‘Garten meister bonstadt.’

So if you garden in shade, it’s quite possible to have pollinators.  One Friday,  I will show perennials for that.

Leave a Reply

