To Unplug or Not?

This is a topic that may have more to do with age than with philosophy. I was not “born” with a device in my hand. And as much as I love my smartphone, and prefer an e-reader to paper books now, to me, gardening is still an activity that takes places away from all electronics. The phone stays in the house and I go outside.

I know to many people–even to people my age and older–that’s just shocking. Even if people are not using the phone for gardening advice outside (more in a moment), the idea of missing a call or a text or an email would just be too stressful.

For me, there’s nothing so urgent that it can’t wait until I come inside for some water or to refresh my sunscreen or to have lunch–you get the idea. It’s not that I never check the phone. But when I am outside, I am away from the phone and that’s fine with me.

Now, there are some wonderful gardening apps. There’s are planning apps, planting apps and plant ID apps. I am a little hesitant to offer advice on these because everyone has their own likes and dislikes about apps and about what they want from them. Personally, I don’t use ANY apps–I will download something, fool around with it for about half an hour and then delete it–that’s about how much love I have for gardening apps!

But I am not a planner, even on paper. I have rarely, if ever, drawn a garden plan, except for a client. When I draw them in my own garden, I find that I rarely follow them so I have given up on them.

It may be the vagaries of my site. If I “draw” something, and then try to execute it, I will find that inevitably there is a monster boulder underneath or the root of something that I would prefer not to disturb.  Hard to plan when you are living on rock ledge and your tree roots have to find a way to grow somewhere–anywhere–that they can.

So my lack of planning–and non-use of apps–may have less to do with age than it does the particular place in which I garden.

Or I may just want to get outside and listen to the birds instead of the ping of emails for awhile. How about you?

4 thoughts on “To Unplug or Not?

  1. I carry my phone in the garden in case I accidentally lock myself out of the house (which has happened) or twist my ankle or cut off my foot with a shovel, etc. So in my case it is about paranoia, I guess.

    • Delia,
      There’s certainly nothing wrong with a little prudence. I can think of lots of instances where one might want a phone out of doors. If someone had a severe allergy, for example, particularly to bees or some other “outdoorsy” thing, one might always be sure to have a phone handy in such a case to summon help (never mind the epi-pen.) And having actually broken my ankle outside, you would think I would be a little more concerned about the sort of thing you reference. I guess I should carefully consider these things a bit more–particularly if I had to drag myself up my ski slope of a driveway to get help!

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Karla

  2. I do take my phone with me, in a back pocket, when gardening. Partly it’s the “in case of a call” (which I never answer unless I recognize the phone number anyway) mindset but also because otherwise I completely lose track of time! I need to set an alarm on the phone so that after an hour I can stop and assess the condition of my skin (rosacea) and lower back before I do any damage that would otherwise keep me out of the garden for a week or so thereafter. And I definitely have the injury-potential thing in the back of my mind as well. Funny how something like that never crossed my mind before the half-century mark, LOL

    That said, mine is just a plain flip phone from probably 10 years ago, no smartphone or anything. 🙂

  3. Both of my commenters are far wiser than I am, clearly. Since tomorrow will probably be my first day in the garden for the spring, perhaps I will attempt to heed this wisdom. Of course, that requires me to actually remember the phone. ….We’ll see how that goes.

    Thanks for your very good thoughts.

    Karla

Leave a Reply

