Latest and Greatest or Tried and True?

The early 2016 magazines and blogs always have the 2016 plant introductions. And some of them are pretty exciting.

First of all, from what I am reading, the “edibles” trend is no longer a trend–it’s mainstream. How’s that for fabulous? So it stands to reason that a lot of the new introductions are edible plants.

Of course, if you have been a vegetable gardener for years (and even a fruit grower) this does not come as news to you. New vegetables are introduced literally every single year. For the most part, these are hybrids, and the growers are trying to solve a problem with insects or disease–or sometimes both.

With respect to fruit trees and shrubs, for years, growers have been trying to get these plants into a more ornamental form–and to a more manageable one that would better accommodate  the backyard and not the orchard. Things that immediately come to mind are the columnar apple trees and the much smaller blueberry and raspberry bushes that can be grown in containers if need be.

Shrubs too have been shrinking in size to accommodate our gardens–and our mixed shrub borders. In some cases, the smaller shrubs lose nothing–they retain the fragrance of the original parent plant. In others, they actually gain something–larger flowers, colorful foliage, something like that.

But here’s the question: Do you rush out and buy “the latest and greatest” new plant introduction every year? Or do you stick with tried and true plants for your garden? Or some combination of the above?

For me, for the most part, I stick with the tried and true (unless I am trialing new plants, of course).  I have a tough site and tough soil. I don’t want to have to guess about how a plant is going to perform over an unpredictable winter (and summer for that matter–we’ve had two drought summers in a row and I don’t supplement the watering at my house, except for the first year when I am establishing a plant). But it’s really the wet cold springs that usually rot new plantings at my house. Even if I plant for a full zone colder than my actual zone and try to elevate the crown of the plant, nothing really likes “feet” in prolonged wet clay.

But that rule applies only to trees, shrubs and perennials. Remember my new year’s gardening resolution? This year I am trying a new snow pea, a scarlet runner bean with decorative leaves (as well as those flowers that should help the hummingbirds–got to do what we can for our pollinators!) And you saw the decorative amaranth seeds I bought, just for fun. We’ll see. I am not sure if I have enough sun but what the heck–I am starting them from seed so the price is right.

That’s where my experimentation comes in–in the annuals and vegetables!  If they turn out to be spectacular failures, all I have are tiny holes in the garden–and in the budget!

On Wednesday and Friday I will show you some trends from the Connecticut Flower and Garden show.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Latest and Greatest or Tried and True?

  1. Good question. When I was “collecting” hardy geraniums and broken-color iris, I’d pounce on the New Introductions like a cat on a sluggish mouse (I had once had five different cultivars of G. phaeum, and in the garden the only one I could distinguish from the others ended up being ‘album’, LOL). But for other perennials it’s a mix, and for woody plants I tend to favor the tried-and-true.

  2. I know exactly what you mean about that! I did the same thing with colchicum! My ‘Waterlily’ didn’t survive and all the purple ones look alike so the only one I can readily identify is ‘album’ as well! So much for plant diversity. But they do look lovely in the fall, whatever they’re called.

    Karla

Leave a Reply

