Winter Bounty

20160116_130111

Last weekend,  after returning from a few weeks away,  I was catching up on a lot of things–cleaning the house and checking in with the house plants.

Imagine my surprise,  then,  when all of my citrus was ready to harvest!  (There  were a few less pleasant surprises with the house plants but I will talk about those on Monday ).

This is great because I have a nice recipe for a winter citrus salad that calls for honey, lime juice and zest, orange &  grapefruit  and fresh mint leaves. It’s just the thing to try to keep winter colds at bay.

20160118_104728

Here’s the salad, ready to eat. The original recipe calls for slicing the oranges and grapefruit into slices. If I am making it to bring to a brunch or something, I will do that–it looks nicer. But for me, I make it all cut up and ready to eat–much easier.

And I will use the lemons in cooking,  although that almost seems a shame.  Maybe I should make a small batch of winter lemonade.  We’ll see.

I had just finished the tomatoes from the garden before I left on my trip so it’s nice to have an additional “harvest.”

Maybe I should start some microgreens so that I have something else to harvest shortly.

Of course I always threaten to do that and never quite get organized enough to make it happen.

Before we know it, spring will be here (thank goodness! ) and we’ll be able to get growing in the garden again!

Leave a Reply

