Are You Feeling Seedy?

It’s that time of year when even non-gardeners can’t help but notice seed packets everywhere.  They’re in the grocery store.  They’re in chain pharmacies.  Of course all the big box stores–Target,  Walmart, Home Depot and Lowes–have them. And any garden centers that are open would have them (and lucky you if you live in a climate where garden centers are open year round ).

Despite the fact that the seeds are in the stores, in my part of the country,  it won’t be time to start seeds for a minimum of two or three months.

But if I want the best selection of seeds,  now is definitely the time to shop. And it’s easy to get carried away,  particularly because those little packets are so attractive and the prices are so reasonable.

So no matter how you are shopping –in person at a store,  or in the many, many wonderful catalogs –try to have a plan.  I know I always find myself with dozens of tomato packets in my hand –more than I could grow in 10 years, and certainly more than I could eat and give away.

But keeping in mind my “gardening resolutions ” I do want to try some new things this year too. They may not be vegetables,  because I don’t have a lot of sun in which to grow those. But we’ll see.

4 thoughts on “Are You Feeling Seedy?

  1. The only thing that may save me is the abundance of packets still in my spare refrigerator from prior years. I hate waste.
    That being said, I do have to order some pepper seeds that I start for a neighbor. So no doubt that I will get a little crazy there. Maybe that’s my chance to try something new this year.

    Karla

    • As I said today, I used to start seeds every time it snowed back when I was younger. But I just don’t need as many plants as I used to and it’s much to early to start my veggies now. So with a storm coming up for this weekend, I will have to content myself with bulb forcing until I can get the seeds going. Luckily there is always some sort of gardening to do in the winter.

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Karla

Leave a Reply

