The Great House Plant Migration

Empty window 1

Last weekend the house plants came in. This was really was too late for me to be doing a chore like this but a few things contributed to the timing.

First, I had to go out of town the weekend prior for a memorial service and I knew that the Spoiler would be better equipped to deal with anything that needed to be watered if he could blast it with a hose.

Empty window 2

Next, the weather has been so unseasonably warm that there was no sense of urgency. Despite the fact that our traditional “first frost” date should be next week, we’re no where near that.  We’re closer to still needing to run the air conditioner than we are in any danger of frost.

So despite the fact that I usually recommend when I lecture on house plants that they should come in right around Labor Day (it helps the plants better acclimate to indoor conditions) I didn’t take my own advice this year. I’ll be paying for that with far too many dropping leaves over the next few weeks. I’ll be wishing the Spoiler could bring his leaf blower indoors!

Full window 1

And as much as I treasure my plants–my “props” for my many house plant lectures–I also like having relatively uncluttered windowsills. My windows have gone from accessible to impenetrable–at least until the great spring house plant migration. And the dog has lost one of her great “squirrel hunting” perches.

Full window 2

Oh well. Without these plants, I don’t think I could survive winter.

2 thoughts on “The Great House Plant Migration

  1. Your windows look beautiful! I always feel conflicted because I, too, love the spare look of my windows and floors when I move my plants out for summer. Every one of them has returned now, plus numerous new geraniums and scented pelargoniums that I just couldn’t let freeze. It’s a jungle in here and it’s obvious a plant hoarder lives here, but I love each and every plant, and every cutting I started. Thanks for sharing your beautiful photos.

  2. It is a double edged sword, isn’t it? There’s the joy and simplicity of “no plants” during the summer (not to mention the ease of being able to water everything with a hose!) But of course I could never get through a winter without all that greenery around me and I desperately try to save things that I have no right trying to save. Sometimes it works, sometimes not, but what’s the harm in trying? Your mention of pelargoniums is what put me in mind of that. I often overwinter those, sometimes more successfully than others. I have a “fancy leafed” one called ‘Crocodile’ that I’ve been bringing in and out for several years now. Our drier summers seem to be helping it along quite nicely.

    Thanks for sharing your obsession and your kind words.

    Karla

Leave a Reply

