Wordless Wednesday–Timeless Tools

new tools

I’m a sucker for new tools. Look at these beauties! I almost hate to get them dirty! But they will be well-worn in in no time I’m sure.

I found them on the web site of P. Allen Smith. Not sure how the rest of you gardeners feel about him. I was privileged to take part in the taping of his radio show when he came to Hartford a few years back for a Connecticut Horticulture Symposium. A couple of night’s before the actual symposium–which was jointly sponsored by the Mark Twain House, one of our local treasures–he taped his radio show at the property with some CHS members. It was then that I realized that he was, for lack of a better phrase, the “real deal.”

In any event, I found these tools on his website. It’s always a pleasure to use tools with real wooden handles. The snips I will probably try to restrain myself and keep inside (although once I have a tool in my hand and start moving around, who knows where I end up, particularly in warm weather!) I find this sort of tool is particularly great for herbs as well.

Not sure what I’ll do with the secateurs. I have enough house plants that they could remain strictly an indoor tool as well.  I’ll have to see.

The weeder clearly will not be an indoor tool! I was trilled to find this. I have a similar tool, but it doesn’t have the slightly curved tip. It’s great for weeding in between my slate walk. It’s also nice if you want to run it horizontally just under the soil to cut out the weeds and bring them up–you don’t disturb a lot of soil (and as you know from last week, I’m all about not disturbing the soil!)

I was a little disturbed that the instructions said that it was great for rooting out moss. Who on earth would want to do that? But to each his or her own, I guess.

2 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday–Timeless Tools

  1. Ooooh, nice! I am a tool junkie also. 😉 Most of mine were bought during the 1980s and 1990s, back when Smith & Hawken was selling decent British-made gardening tools. Nowadays everything seems to be made in China (even the ones that are marketed to evoke the British ones, LOL).

  2. I too bought most of mine in the 90s–when I “married” my house and needed to upgrade from an annual gardener to a serious perennial and shrub gardener. I’ve always been a fan of Lee Valley and have gotten some beautiful tools from them. Back in the day when the exchange rate was better, their tools were very reasonably priced. Now they are market rate, but their tools are still beautiful!

    And yes, Smith and Hawken had some fabulous stuff. I have a pot cleaning brush from them that is great!

    Karla

Leave a Reply

