Wordless Wednesday–Better Outside Than In!

Cross Spider

 

This is the time of year when I am just over-run with spiders. For the most part, I am thrilled. Spiders are the “good” bugs in the garden. And so long as I am not hit in the face with one of these lovely webs every morning, or worse yet, so long as I don’t find these guys inside, I’m delighted to have them!

Grass spider

But speaking of creepy, this is one spider that if it ever gets into the house, I have to call someone to kill it for me. I literally break out in chills. It’s really big and it jumps because as you can see by this messy sheet web, it pounces on its prey instead of weaving a nice web to trap it. You can tell just by the few legs protruding from under the ledge how large this spider really is. And when they’re outside, I’m grateful to have them. They’re technically called “grass spiders” but as you can see here, they don’t always live in the grass.

Still, I try to water gently around this one–and hope it doesn’t get inside because this one is just about a foot from the door we use to go in and out of the house!

4 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday–Better Outside Than In!

  1. I agree! Although I’ve always had a gut reaction of “eek!” to spiders, I do remind myself that (a) they are good guys in the garden and (b) unlike mosquitoes, which I regard with utter hatred and would happily exterminate, they don’t bite. Well, the ones here don’t bite, anyway; we are supposedly too far north for the Brown Recluse.

  2. Interesting. You’re further south than I am and they claim that we have brown recluse. But of course, with interstate transport, anything can move anywhere once or twice and cause widespread hysteria! They also claim we have black widows which I also try to think about not at all. After all, most of my house spiders are those little harmless brown things. You almost wish that they would grow up and grab some fungus gnats now and again!

    But I totally agree about the “eek” factor which is why I didn’t show that grass spider in full. It’s totally capable of provoking that response on sight, even in me!

    Karla

    • Thanks for reading and commenting. I love your expression “multiplying like billy-o.” That’s a perfect description for what those cross spiders are doing here and why I hate finding them in my face. But I do love their perfect webs–and their place in the garden.

      Karla

Leave a Reply

