Wordless Wednesday–Hydrangeas

Nikko Blue

It’s hydrangea time at my house.  This is my favorite time in the garden because these are my favorite plants (although sadly they are not native.) But they are mostly reliable bloomers (except this one–‘Nikko Blue’) and they are very long lasting so I love them for that.

I have an abundance of them thanks to being a “shrub tester” for Proven Winners.

rose & hydrangea

These are two “test” shrubs. The rose is OsoEasy Cherry Pie and the hydrangea is Invincibelle Spirit. I think they’re lovely together and I just happened to plant them this way by accident!

pink & blue hydrangeas

Here are more “test” Invincibelle Spirits along with some Endless Summer hydrangeas, I’m not a huge fan of the color of Endless Summer but I do love the fact that it blooms no matter what the winter does!

endless summer blue

Here’s a close-up of the Endless Summer blue. I’d prefer a little more purple in it. This sky blue is not for me. But they fade to purple as they age so it’s okay.

Incrediball

Here’s another “test” hydrangea, Incrediball. This one is incredibly hardy in my garden. It was one of the only two that didn’t suffer severe dieback last winter. The other was Invincibelle Spirit!

Lady in Red

In a different place in my yard altogether is this hydrangea, Lady in Red. Its name comes from the stems, not the flowers.

Lady in Red flower

While no one is ever going to argue that hydrangeas are great plants for bees, someone forgot to tell this cute little sweat bee! I do find all sorts of bees on the hydrangeas, although I’m sure it’s partly because they’re in my yard visiting other things.

Pia or Forever Pink

Finally this is a true dwarf called ‘Pia.’ It’s sometimes sold as ‘Forever Pink.’  The name is fairly good because it’s pretty true even in my pH 3 soil! If a plant can remain pink (sometimes it’s a little more purple-y but still) in soil that acidic, they’ve got it right!

2 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday–Hydrangeas

  1. I love hydrangeas.  In my former garden I had Purple Tiers, Tokyo Delight, Nikko Blue, Domotoi and Pink Diamond (which confused me no end because it starts off white, LOL). Actually I love that sky blue and am making a note about ‘Endless Summer’ especially as combined with Invincibelle Spirit.

  2. I would ask “how can you not love hydrangeas?,” but then I’d get all sorts of comments from folks who don’t–and that’s okay too, because if we all liked the same thing, we’d have such a boring world! But I adore them! And these are just the ones blooming now! I’ve got a few more to come–the paniculata types white those creamy white cones that fade to blush or rose. At some point, when this is my former garden, I will miss these and my fish the most!

    Karla

Leave a Reply

