What’s Happening To This House?

Abandoned house?

Over the years, as I drive back and forth on my very short drive to work, I’ve seen a few houses like this. One was definitely in foreclosure. I watched as the roof nearly rotted off. It was 2-3 years before it became occupied again. And the house has a brand new roof now and great new plantings (a gardener would notice these things).

Then earlier this year, a very elderly lady died. Her lawn became like this one, but amazingly, the gardens around the house look great. First some great iris bloomed and now she has some lovely climbing roses that are just finishing up. I actually featured a tree from her property last fall–readers may remember the weeping willow.

I’m always reluctant to go around taking photos of strangers’ homes but it was very clear that this house is unoccupied. If I were a little bolder I would have walked up and looked in the windows but even from where I stood I could see that it was probably empty. This is a corner lot and as I drove around the corner I could see some abandoned things propped against the back of the house as well.

The long view

 

From here it’s easier to see the grass. Hard to believe suburban grass can get like this! I’m not entirely sure how long the house has stood like this. I started to notice its “abandoned” looking state about a month ago.

One other thing about this house: It used to have a funky cool wrought iron gazebo in the side yard (if I’m remembering the correct house.) That’s now gone. So someone came and dismantled it. I can only hope it was heirs and not someone who sold it for scrap!

[As an update, I found this outdated listing using a Google earth photo from 2007. The gazebo I remember is in the photo. It’s pretty cool. I do hope a relative or family member has it]

4 thoughts on “What’s Happening To This House?

  1. We have had a foreclosed house next to us going on 7 years….the bank refuses to sell it but they do maintain the lawn and pump out the basement as they still have the power off and the sump pump then doesn’t work. They have a abandoned pool that has become a swampy pool with mosquitoes breeding. Sad when these banks can just let the properties linger when others want to buy them.

  2. Hi Donna,
    I have read that in other parts of the country where foreclosures were out of control–places like Florida, Nevada and California–people were actually just taking possession of these abandoned houses and living in them, sometimes for years, without the bank knowing about it! A shady sort of broker business sprang up to house the homeless and the chronically under employed in the homes and that’s when the banks finally started taking action, which is sad in and of itself.

    Our foreclosure situation is supposedly getting better which is why I presumed that this was a death situation–but of course one never knows.

    Karla

  3. I’m currently house-hunting and one that I looked at recently had an overgrown, abandoned-looking house next door. Of course the realtors feigned ignorance when asked about it but I was concerned that if it was vacant it might be a target for ‘squatters’ or at least a teen night-hangout… especially since the sellers of the for-sale house had only been there 2 years. Perchance were they moving because of a Problem Next Door? As it turned out there were issues with the for-sale house that eliminated not only it but that entire neighborhood from my consideration but it’s true, one never knows. Sometimes people will buy a foreclosure and then use it as a rental property for transients, in which there might be as many as 10 or 12 people living in a 3-bedroom house. Rentals are expensive in my area because zoning is against it and so dilapidated homes usually signal that kind of illegal-rental situation (absentee and neglectful landlord).

  4. There’s so much to be concerned about when house hunting–although bad neighbors can occur anywhere. We are currently the only neighbors with a fence–I think you can see it in my hydrangea photos (invincibelle spirit and endless summer). The home next door is immaculately kept–that’s not the problem–it’s the boorish behavior of the adults and children who ride ATVs and dirt bikes around a lot that’s only 1/2 acre in size, who have loud hot tub parties until all hours of the night and who have built a huge fire pit that they use to burn downed trees so that huge pieces of ash fall on our property. Sigh.

    They’ve owned the house for 20 plus years so I have no hope of them moving anytime soon. Several of the neighbors have tried to talk to them with no success. So that’s my story.

    Karla

Leave a Reply

