The Garden Contrarian

There are days when I just feel like a big curmudgeon.  Last season I did a whole series of posts called “Let’s Not Be Mindless…” about different things including how to use mulch.  Most times when I talk about why I don’t use mulch on my heavy, wet clay soil I feel a little like John the Baptist: a lonely voice crying out in the wilderness.

Unlike John, however, my voice is rarely heeded. I think people think I am just a contrarian.

Now it’s “spring” (at least according to the calendar) or what passes for spring in my part of the country: cold, wet damp days on end followed by an occasional nice day or perhaps even an unseemly warm day.  Mud season. People ask my why I’m not out working in the garden.

“Can’t,” I reply. “The soil is too wet. I’ll ruin it.”

Now I might as well be one of those mythical beasts with 3 or 4 heads from the looks I get. Even the magazines are running articles and newsletter posts with titles like “Get Out There!”

Well, yes, and no. Depending on where you live, what your conditions are, and how wet your soil is, you can really be doing a lot of harm if you “get out there” and walk on wet lawn or soil.

So gardeners, know yourselves, your gardens and your conditions. And on a bright sunny day, if those conditions aren’t right for working in the garden, take a walk instead!

2 thoughts on “The Garden Contrarian

  1. THANK YOU for helping me to stop feeling vaguely guilty about not going out to weed today, even though the thermometer said 57 degrees (which is the warmest it’s been for a looong time) and the sun was shining. But we had rain yesterday and are to have rain again tomorrow, and thus things are soggy. But if it dries out by Thursday… let battle commence! 🙂

  2. Oh goodness, my pleasure! All weekend, I was subjected to nutty neighbors who were blowing & mowing. Mowing? Our grass is not even green yet! Never mind what they’re doing to the soil!

    And I know exactly what you mean about wanting to get out! We had 2 days near 70! So I brought some pots out of my garage at least. And I walked a bit with the dog to get us both back in shape.

    I’m hoping by this weekend I too can get some clean up and pruning done. Good luck to you.

    Karla

Leave a Reply

