Wordless Wednesday–A Bit of Sunshine

Variegated calamondin orange

After this dreary winter, I decided to treat myself. I acquired this large, fruited variegated calamondin orange plant.  Several years ago these were all the rage. Now you have to acquire them mail order from specialty growers and pay huge shipping rates to have them flown across the country to you. I guess that ensures that only serious growers get them.

I took this photo about 36 hours after “unboxing” it. I’m guessing it had been in the box–nearly bare root–for about 3 days.  It doesn’t look terrible but you can still see some leaf curl. And clearly it needs to root into the pot.  It’s listing distinctly to starboard.

All of that will be cured by some time in soil, sun and some time outdoors, once we get some warmer weather. Now I’m really dreaming!

2 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday–A Bit of Sunshine

  1. I do love it! As for whether it will love my climate, that’s going to remain to be seen. So far, there hasn’t been quite enough sunshine for it to be happy. But if we ever get some warm weather, I’ll let it summer outside with my other citrus and I think it will make the transition nicely.

    Thanks for your comments, as always!

    Karla

Leave a Reply

