Success With Seed Sprouting!

So after all the gloom and doom of the prior several posts, you’ve finally managed to say to yourself, “Well, the heck with it all. Seeds are only $2 a package. How hard can this be if every kid in school comes home with a plant in a cup? I’m going to do it!”

And truth be told, it’s not all that hard.  I’ve just given you all the things to think about so that you know how to do things properly.

So now that you know how to read a package to see whether your seeds need light to germinate, you know that you’re going to try not to over-water them, or you’ll water from the bottom if possible to try to avoid damping off, and you’ll check your last frost date so that you know when you should start the seeds, you’re ready to go!

There’s one final thing to remember after your seeds come up and you’re looking at them.  This is something that happens to me every year.  It’s sort of a “gardener’s envy” kind of thing.

I have my seeds, and no matter how well they’ve done, or how tall they are or how beautiful they look to me, it’s unavoidable that at some point before I put them in the garden or pot where they’ll eventually wind up, I start going out to garden centers.

And of course, what do I see there, but commercially grown seedlings and transplants for sale.  Compared to my plants, these huge, robust plants are like the Arnold Schwartzenegger of the plant world: they’re on steroids!

And so I go home and look at my tender seedlings and think, “Ugh. These are pitiful. They’re like dental floss with leaves.”

Except they’re not pitiful at all. They’re the product of my hard work and careful selection and no commercial or chemical fungicides, fertilizers or growth hormones.  I always need to keep that in mind.  After all, isn’t that why I’m starting my own seeds to begin with?

Leave a Reply

