Wordless Wednesday–Merry Christmas

Wreath

I decided to have a slightly different wreath this year. Otherwise most of my decorations are the same or slightly different “variations on a theme.”

Sled

I salvaged this old sled from the trash 9 or so years ago. I think this was before the trend of decorating with sleds really began. Now I see them quite a lot. Someone in my area even has one with a pair of old ice skates draped over it. I usually just use a spray of greens, and then that will come off after they get too brittle and I’ll just keep a bow on for most of the winter.

Kissing ball

This is another favorite of mine and I leave it up way longer than I probably should–some years I leave it until almost Easter, if Easter is in late March. No idea why I love these so much but I have one almost every year and have for decades.

Porch basket

I often, but not always do some version of this as well. If I’m feeling crafty I might make it myself. Usually I’ll just purchase one. This one the Spoiler liked when we got our tree so that’s how I chose it. He’s very traditional–everything has to be red and green. As you can see by my wreath, I prefer unconventional, but I indulge him.

6 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday–Merry Christmas

  1. I love your star wreath! It is just lovely, especially with the cinnamon sticks. I also love the ornament that looks like a live Christmas ball in the tree! All of them are lovely. I hope you had a Merry Christmas! Dana 🙂

  2. Thank you, Dana, I hope your Christmas was lovely as well, if you celebrated. The star wreath smells just as good as it looks, particularly first thing in the morning, when I open the door and it has been warmed by the sun a bit. Since it’s all dried, I’m going to save it over for next year and hope it lasts. I should be able to get a couple of years from it if I manage to find a good place to store it.

    My kissing ball is “live”–sort of. It’s cut greens stuck into floral foam. Most years it will last quite a long time outside–as I said, usually into March, but definitely into February. Before we had so many bears where we are, I would hang suet in that tree as well and the birds would fly from the ball to the suet and back again. They loved it!

    Thanks for reading and commenting!

    Karla

Leave a Reply

