Keeping an Amaryllis Upright

Windowsill with amaryllis

A week ago I talked about an amaryllis for Christmas. This is how far we’ve come in a week! The plant has not only turned green, but the flowers have opened.

But what I wanted to show is how I keep this baby from toppling over onto the floor and breaking–always heart-breaking (although sometimes the flower stalks can be salvaged as cut flowers if that happens).

Over at Red Dirt Ramblings Dee is did a lovely post–as well as a series of Twitter posts–on growing amaryllis. She basically gave a “how to” primer.

She actually stakes her amaryllis and uses gravel or decorative rocks as a top-dressing.

I, on the other hand, have tried the staking thing only to have the whole pot tumble right over–clay pot and all. So this year I am trying something different. I am trying this approach.

rocks on pot

No, the rocks are not decorative–but with the size of them, I am reasonably sure the pot won’t topple either!

And as you see from the top photo, they’re not obvious unless I’m shooting down at them with the camera!

As for the flowers, here’s what they look like. This is hippeastrum ‘Minerva.’

Amaryllis flowers 'Minerva'

2 thoughts on “Keeping an Amaryllis Upright

  1. Those flowers are gorgeous! I wonder if I have enough room in my pot for some rocks? I learned last year that, as you state, they look pretty as cut flowers, too (after mine fell over!). 🙂

  2. I find that experience is a great teacher (although not always in the way we intend, sadly, right?)! I’ve seen folks use more decorative rocks but I think you’d need to use a LOT more of them. Marbles would also probably work, but there again, you’d need lots. Here in New England, we call these “New England potatoes” and they’re all over. I’m just grateful to find a helpful use for them on occasion!

    Thanks for reading and commending and Happy Holidays!

    Karla

Leave a Reply

