Puttering With The House Plants

It’s November. In my part of the world, this is one of the dreariest months on record, followed only, possibly, by February. The sun rarely shines. The wind always blows. Cold sets in. This is the time of year when I decide several things:

1) I really need to live in some other climate;
2) I really need to grow some other plants; and
3) While house plants help in getting through the “winter,” lately winter is a long time around here.

Mind you, I am saying all of this during one of the mildest Novembers on record. We’ve been “blessed” with mid-week warm ups almost every week and this year we didn’t even turn our heat on until November first, probably the latest we’ve turned it on in memory.

I’m remarking on this because I was telling friends that despite owning lots of very warm clothing–clothing that I have purchased specifically for the cold and that is supposed to be able to keep me warm in much colder conditions than we ever get here in New England, I regularly freeze from the end of September until about July. It’s just ridiculous.

So house plants do a lot for the psyche. They also do a lot for the air in the house, helping to keep it humidified. And air that is less dry feels warmer. So that helps.

So on any given weekend you fill find me spending at least part of one day “puttering” with my house plants. Rarely will I be re-potting them, but often I will be trimming them up if I find them drying out too fast (or perhaps if I find an insect infestation on the tips).

I’ll always remove dead leaves.

On my vining plants, sometimes I’ll remove the vines and sometimes I’ll train them, depending on the plant. And depending on the plant, I may do both at different times. My mandevilla is like that. How can a plant that is so well behaved outside become such a nightmare inside? If it didn’t bloom so nicely, it would be compost.

Somehow, just working among the plants can make me forget all about winter for awhile!

Leave a Reply

