It’s Time For The Winter Weather Prediction–Straight From the Squirrels’ Nests

squirrel's nest wpid-wp-1414364581995.jpeg

Those of you that have followed this blog for awhile–or straight from the beginning–know that I’ve made winter weather predictions right around the beginning of November–or whenever the leaves are mostly off the trees and I can see the squirrels’ nests.

For those of you who are new to this ancient tradition, here’s how it goes: the higher up in the tree that a squirrel builds its nest, the worse a winter will be.

When I was remarking on this to my sister last year, and telling her that I knew that last winter was going to be horrible because I had never seen the squirrels’ nests so high, she, with all her Ivy League education and infallible logic, piped up with “What? That makes no sense! Why would they build the nests up high if the winter is going to be bad? You’d think they’d want the nests down low if the winter is going to be bad? Protection from the wind and the cold would be better lower down the tree, wouldn’t it? It just stands to reason….”

Perhaps it stands to reason to us humans, but that’s not what the squirrels do.

Anyway, this year there are dire predictions of another horrible winter, more polar vortex like conditions and above average snowfall–at least for my part of the country.

Thankfully, if that’s what the “experts” are saying, my squirrels, have not gotten the message! In fact, this year, their nests are about the lowest I have seen them since I’ve been posting about this.

Now I’m cold no matter what the temperature–I start pulling on gloves when the temperatures are still in the 50s. But I have faith in my squirrels! So I’m hopeful that they’re right this year. And if so, you heard it here first, folks! No bad winter this year–the squirrels said so!

2 thoughts on “It’s Time For The Winter Weather Prediction–Straight From the Squirrels’ Nests

  1. I’m so hoping they are right! I was in Pennsylvania over the weekend and the nests are low there as well. I was quite encouraged. All our squirrels can’t be mistaken–or if they are, they’ll surely be very sorry!

    Thanks for reading & commenting!

    Karla

Leave a Reply

