Wordless Wednesday–A Powerhouse for Pollinators

catmint

A neighbor of mine recently removed this plant because she was afraid of the bees. Her son has so many issues that he actually reacts to the heat so in that instance I can certainly sympathize with her and her concern for her child!

I’ve literally had to deadhead this plant after dark because the bees are on this plant from sun up until well after dusk. Again, this is not a native plant–my natives haven’t started yet. This is catmint–nepeta x faassenii ‘Walker’s Low.’ I’ve seen it sold as a butterfly and hummingbird plant as well, but in my garden I don’t think any of those other pollinators could get near it–they’d have to fight the bees for it!

And what’s nice is that all sorts of bees jostle about amiably on it. I have it pretty much away from everything but my mailbox so we only have to worry about the bees once a day (as does whoever delivers the mail, I guess–but of course, there is lavender, roses and that lilac in that garden so it’s all bees all the time down there!) Here’s a photo of what that looks like.

catmint in the garden

I wasn’t deliberately trying to sabotage the Postal Service–that’s where the sun is–just off the driveway, of course.

It blooms pretty much from early June–or mid-May in a warm year–through late July. If I could deadhead it, it would probably re-start sooner. There is a re-bloom later in the summer.

Because I can’t deadhead it as early as I should, it gets rangier than it should too. But otherwise, it’s a well-behaved, trouble free plant that survived the polar vortex without the issues I had in most of the garden!

And while it is not a native it plant, it is on the Xerxes Society’s list of garden plants for bees for my region. That list can be found here. Of course this list is for the northeastern United States. Other regions can find their own lists here.

2 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday–A Powerhouse for Pollinators

  1. This plant is amazing. The past couple of days I’ve seen a pair of goldfinch on it. I’m not quite sure what they’re after–but I’ve so enjoyed watching them. I guess they’re waiting for my coneflowers, which are terribly slow this year!

    Thanks for chiming in!

    Karla

Leave a Reply

