It Ought To Be Illegal!

Spring Trees

The title of this post come from my days of retail gardening. A customer was talking to me either about a weeping cherry (the smaller tree on the left) or a magnolia) the larger on the right.

Anyway, she had one of these “messy” trees planted too near a deck. She was speaking about it very disparagingly and said that it ought to be “illegal” to sell trees that made such a mess.

I’m not sure about you, but I’m certainly willing to put up with some “mess” for a display like this every spring.

And anyway, don’t we have enough silly laws?

2 thoughts on “It Ought To Be Illegal!

  1. yes we do have enough stupid and unjust laws. the responsibility of choosing plants is the customers responsibility if she doesn’t want a mess then cut it down and stop complaining. my trees and plants create a lot of mess sometimes, okay that is up to me to decide how much I am willing ot put up with not congress or some weird people who decide I need to be regulated or have my choices censored and approved.

  2. Roberta,
    I agree. I have lots of “messy” plants. Think of impatiens and begonias–ugh. Do I not plants them any more because of the mess? Of course not! What about roses? They can be a disaster. That customer probably wouldn’t think of having something like that around either. Some people miss out on a lot of life that way.

    But “laws?!” That’s really going way too far! I can only hope she didn’t mean it!

    Thanks for reading & commenting, as always.

    Karla

Leave a Reply

