Wordless Wednesday–Tag-Along Plants

flowering vine

This little plant was rescued from one of my larger crotons when I was repotting it. Now that it’s free, it’s quite happy–so happy that it’s flowering.

A little more research showed that it’s tradescantia flumenensis. Apparently, down south, this plant is considered an invasive species. Perhaps that’s how it found a ride in my croton. I’ll need to be careful about where I keep it and whether I put it outdoors for the summer–because while it shouldn’t survive my winter temperatures, if we get one of our crazy winters, you just don’t know.

And of course, birds are notorious for spreading invasive species. That’s how oriental bittersweet becomes so pervasive. So for now I’ll keep it indoors on a windowsill and enjoy my “tag-along.”

Leave a Reply

