Wordless Wednesday–Spring Teasers

maple buds

The faint swelling at the nodes of a Japanese maple

For a change, it’s snowing–again. But during a brief warm spell over the weekend, I was able to get out and observe a few hints of what’s to come in a month or 4.

snowdrop bulbs

Here are the leaves of my “autumn crocus” pushing up–and some green catmint beside all the dead foliage from last year!

old bird's nest

And I’m sure it won’t be long before the birds are back and nesting as well. Just the other day–one of our sub-zero days, I might add–I heard a chickadee belting out its little “spring-time” call. While I had to question its wisdom, it sure was a delight to hear on such a bitterly cold day!

Leave a Reply

