Wordless Wednesday–Rats With Tails?

I originally published this photo back in 2011. It was a close-up of a very happy little squirrel eating some suet beneath a feeder in my front yard.

As you’ll shortly hear, I no longer put out feeders (which makes me very sad) because of bears. And Not only has this reduced my population of birds, it has reduced my population of all other wildlife, including what some would consider “nuisance” wildlife like squirrels and chipmunks.

The only think that hasn’t gone away are the deer. Because while the deer did used to come to the feeders as well, feeders were never their primary meal at my home–nor at yours probably. At all our homes, the primary meals for the deer are the very things we least want them to eat!

2 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday–Rats With Tails?

    • Oh Michele, I can see how much feeding & watching the birds means to you then. I can’t tell you how I miss it.

      I still do have lots of birds in my yard, primarily because of the garden and the habitat I’ve created for them. But I don’t have the .huge flocks I once did. Nor do I get those very special migrants.

      Still, I need to keep the dog safe too. There’s always that balance.

      Thanks, as always, for reading & commenting.
      Karla

Leave a Reply

