Wordless Wednesday–Who’s Been Walking In My Yard?

vole trails

As the snow was melting this past weekend, this was what was revealed. What looks to be a crazy quilt of trails are actually vole trails that had been hidden under more than a foot of snow, safe from the little critters predators (hawks, owls and foxes in my yard)

From this photo you can see that the trails don’t really lead to much vegetation. But that doesn’t mean that they are harmless. I know from experience that in this area there are underground chipmunk burrows. So who knows where else the little critters were going from here?

Actually in my yard, I rarely, if ever, see any evidence of vole damage. I suspect it’s because I have the “woods” and they can feast to their hearts’ delight on all the vegetation they want in there.

Make habitat for critters and it is possible to co-exist peaceably–usually.

3 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday–Who’s Been Walking In My Yard?

  1. Oh, Ladies, thank you both for your comments. Michele, I’m sorry, I didn’t see yours until just today. Too busy at the holidays I guess.

    I am very fortunate to have so little damage from these otherwise destructive critters. For the most part, I am extremely lucky with the wildlife in my yard. I welcome it all–and only the deer don’t always “behave”

    Happy New Year.

    Karla

Leave a Reply

