Wordless Wednesday–Beat the Winter Blues!

Geranium

No, it’s not still summer, but try telling that to this annual geranium (otherwise known as a pelargonium in the botanical world).

Over the past weekend when the high temperatures didn’t make it out of the twenties and the winds were gusting fiercely, this bright spot of color reminded me of what season we’d recently left behind–and what we had in store for us in several short months!

Plants like this are a great way to get through the winter doldrums!

2 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday–Beat the Winter Blues!

  1. What a sweet color your geranium is! I love having that bit of summer inside! I brought a bunch of mine inside too. I couldn’t bear to just throw them on the compost pile! My front hallway is always chilly and they seem to like it. 🙂

  2. You’ll never believe this–I think you can see the buds in the photo–but I probably have twice the number of flowers now as I did when I took the picture Sunday! It’s such an inspiration.

    And last night I pointed the plant out to The Spoiler (aka my husband, if you aren’t familiar with my nickname for him–when you read on you’ll understand his nickname!) and asked him if he didn’t think it was just lovely.

    His response? Looks like a wimpy, half dead geranium.

    Ah well, I guess beauty really is in the eye….

    Thanks for reading and commenting–and Happy Thanksgiving!

    Karla

Leave a Reply

