Wordless Wednesday–Cyclamen

cyclamen

On Friday, I’ll post a bit about the Thanksgiving decorations you can achieve using house plants. There are some fabulous color combinations available for this time of year.

And I’m not sure about any of you, but I’ve been seeing poinsettias and little decorated Norfolk Island pines for about 3 weeks now and that’s about 3 weeks too many in my opinion. When I was buying the kalanchoe you’ll see in Friday’s post a woman behind me walked in a said with dismay “Already?!” and I knew immediately that she was talking about the poinsettias.

I turned and told her I felt the same way as she did.

This lovely little corm should take you from Thanksgiving through Christmas (if you celebrate) and into the new year provided you observe 2 things: keep it cool and keep it evenly moist. It doesn’t like to be overly wet (since it is a bulb-like plant) and it hates to dry out.

In warmer homes (not a problem in mine!) it may go dormant faster, so if you need it for a special occasion, buy it close to that occasion.

2 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday–Cyclamen

  1. Thanks. It’s one of mine too, particularly because my house is cool enough to support it. And I don’t think I’ve had a white one in awhile. It’s been a nice change for me.

    Thanks for reading and commenting, as always!

    Karla

Leave a Reply

