Wordless Wednesday–A Versatile Native Plant

IMG-20130825-00572

When I looked out the window of my home and saw these blooming off in the distance–and they are just beginning to bloom–I thought, “Aha! There’s my native plant that I’ve been wishing for!”

new england aster

This is the white wood aster, a little flower that shines like stars in the deep shade. Its tap roots aerate my heavy clay (making it a bear to remove, so don’t let it seed if you don’t want it places you can’t get to). It’s been saddled with the botanical name of eurybia divaricatus.

Like most native plants, it will not out-compete the weeds or the invasive plants–but it does light up the shady areas of my yard just beautifully–and it holds its own in the sun as well. What’s not to like?

Leave a Reply

