Wordless Wednesday

IMG-20130728-00531

This lovely variegated hibiscus is called Sugar Tip. (It’s longer correct botanical name is hibiscus syriacus America Irene Stout).

IMG-20130728-00532

This is a close-up of the lovely ruffled double flowers with the darker center.

If I had any complaint, it’s that mine is not yet mature enough for the weight of the branches to support its many blooms. But as the shrub ages, that will self-correct. Besides, what a problem to have–too many flowers!

2 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday

  1. I have 2 of these beauties; besides being heavy bloomers, they seem to please many varieties of bees. Thet have grown to 5 feet from 18 inches in 3 years, & are already starting to provide some of the privacy I planted them for.
    A choice I’m happy with all around!

    • Michele, I have noticed the bees loving these, which seems unusual given the very double blooms. It seems like a logistical problem to me–but them again, I’m not a bee, so what do I know? Always glad to have anything to help out any kind of wildlife, especially bees so thanks for pointing that out!

      Karla

Leave a Reply

