Wordless Wednesday–Removing Poison Ivy

poison ivy seedling

Unless you’re really good at weed identification, you might not recognize this as a poison ivy seedling.

Eleven inches of rain in June have caused all kinds of little weed seedlings to pop up all over my yard. Since I’m a hand weeder, I take care to pay attention to these. I go out with a plastic bag over my hand, and hand pull them carefully.

seedling with root captured

Notice I’ve gotten the root out. Then I pull the bag back over my hand, knot it, and toss it in the trash. It’s not sustainable, but at least the poison ivy is gone!

3 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday–Removing Poison Ivy

  1. I’m a field biologist and have recently released an app that takes you through total removal of poison ivy and includes the rash, remedies and hundreds of photos of the plants throughout the seasons. It’s called Rash Plants and is only $0.99. This app can really help you either avoid or wage war on the plants, if that’s what you choose to do! Be safe, these plants are getting bigger and meaner every year.

Leave a Reply

