My Memorial Day Remembrance

portion of vegetable garden

Happy Memorial Day! On this day when we celebrate all those who have served in the United States Armed Forces to preserve our freedom, I have created my own little tradition to honor my late father, a World War II veteran, an my neighbor, also a World War II veteran.

Because in my part of the country the soil isn’t reliably warm until Memorial Day, I wait to plant the tomatoes and peppers into my vegetable garden until then. How can this possibly honor anyone? Well, until my Dad passed away, I would start tomato seedlings for him. I still start tomato and pepper seedlings for my neighbor, who’s now in his 90s (and still gardening, bless his heart!)

So when I am planting my own garden, I am also thinking of these two men, and of all our veterans. It may seem silly, but it’s definitely a way to keep my Dad’s memory alive and present to me because we both shared a love of gardening.

Of course, this year my tradition backfired a little. In the week preceding Memorial Day, it was sunny and in the 80s to low 90s all week–perfect tomato weather.

Then of course, the Saturday of Memorial Day weekend, a front came through. It was cold, dreary and damp. The high didn’t make it to 50 degrees.

But that’s okay. We surely needed the rain and as I always say, we have 2 seasons in this state: winter and July. July will be here shortly and I do have to get the garden planted at some point. So here we go, like it or not.

Now I just have to get up my nerve to clean the pond!

4 thoughts on “My Memorial Day Remembrance

  1. Similar weather here but the warm weather will be here tomorrow. I plant my veg garden in honor of my dad as he loved to garden…it is from him and my mom who can no longer garden I got my love of this wonderful obsession.

  2. I guess a lot of us garden with memories of someone, don’t we? That’s for reading–and sharing!

    And better weather is on the way–today it’s finally sunny–still a bit breezy for my taste but already warmer than the last 2 days have been!

    Karla

Leave a Reply

