The Spoiler Strikes Again

After discovering last season that I had impatiens downy mildew, I came to the realization that I’d have to replant a large area under the white dogwood that I posted about a week or so ago for one of my Wordless Wednesdays.

As long as I’ve been gardening at this property (20 seasons or so) this area had been spring bulbs which dwindled over time as the dogwood shade increased. But that really didn’t matter because the bulbs got in the way when I wanted to put in the impatiens in the spring so I was sort of glad to see them go.

This year, of course, there will be no impatiens, so a week or so ago I told the Spoiler that I was going to put in perennials to solve the planting problem once and for all. He got kind of a sick look on his face.

“Do you have to? Why can’t we plant impatiens? Isn’t anyone selling impatiens?”

So I explained the problem–again–even though I’d explained it last year when they died and a couple of times over the winter. But the Spoiler is not a gardener and unless the problem is immediate, there’s no reason for him to remember or recall this information.

“Well, okay,’ he said grudgingly. “But they’d better not get in the way when I want to blow the leaves out of there in the fall.”

Now I already knew I couldn’t put hellebores there, which I what I would really would have liked to do because every time I show him hellebores he turns up his nose and says “Ick. They’re not very pretty, are they?”

If it’s not bold and splashy, you’d just might as well forget gardening around the Spoiler!

One of my other favorites, heucheras and heucherellas and tiarellas, which would work fairly nicely there too, because if we don’t get a lot of rain during the summer it can get a bit dry there–are also out then, because they won’t go dormant for him–but if I can find enough varieties of those, I just might do it anyway and let him “blow around” them.

Or perish the thought, I could actually rake out there area–it’s just a dogwood tree. The leaves aren’t that prolific.

But I’m already a slave to the almighty mower in what I can put on the lawn (in other words–nothing!) I refuse to be a slave to the blower as well!

2 thoughts on “The Spoiler Strikes Again

  1. Ha! Gardeners are often mismatched with spouses who see the world the opposite way. My husband also wants bold and splashy color and always wants many more annuals. And all our gardens must be shaped and designed for ease of mowing.

    I say go for the tiarellas around the dogwood — mine keep a low, tight moundy profile after flowering and don’t seem to snag leaves in their foliage. You could blow right over them!

    • Laurrie,
      Isn’t that the truth! If it were up to “The Spoiler” we’d have nothing BUT annuals (and therefore nothing but mud all winter, of course!).

      Nice idea about the tiarellas–I’ll hunt some down. I did give in to him and get some hostas–which he promptly said he hated anyway. And I did manage to sneak in a couple of hellebores too that I can put in by a rhodie. I’m still convinced I can convert him. And if not–at least I’ll be happy.

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Karla

Leave a Reply

