Wordless Wednesday

witch hazel bloom

One of the surest signs of the end of winter for me is when the witch hazel (hammamelis x intermedia ‘Jelena’) blooms.

Back when I lived in Hartford, I was an ambitious gardener but knew little about trees, shrubs or perennials. I used to see a yellow tree blooming on a neighboring property in February. Foolishly I always assumed it was forsythia (see, that’s little I really knew about trees and shrubs).

I now know it was a witch hazel. Ever since I have wanted one for my own yard.

And while I chose one that doesn’t bloom in bright yellow–I have my kerrias for that–I still think of that memory when my own tree blooms.

It’s a bit late this year though. I’ll still take it!

snowdrops

I’m not sure why, but wordpress is doing strange things when I upload images. They’re now smaller. Even uploading text is much harder. I’m not amused.

Most of my snowdrops got crushed in the roof replacement project but I’m not complaining. I’d much rather have the roof done.

This little clump survived. Another hopeful sign on this first day of spring.

Leave a Reply

