Do You Fear Trees?

A recent article in the New York Times suggested that the normally “tree-loving” residents of New England (which includes Connecticut of course) have come to fear the trees more than to adore them.

The article focused on the trials of Springfield Massachusetts which had, in one year, a tornado, a microburst and the storm in October 2011 which brought down numerous trees (Sandy didn’t affect inland Springfield very much–but they did have a horrific gas explosion Thanksgiving weekend, causing the city to wonder if it was cursed).

Needless to say, in the 3 weather events, the trees got decimated.  I can attest to that, having driven by Springfield right after the tornado–and of course, having extensive tree damage from what some in Connecticut were calling “Arborgedden,” after the October 2011 snows.

I have a neighbor who has made it her mission to take down almost every tree on her property.  She started this long before October 2011 and she continues it to this day.  There are maybe only 2 mature trees left on her property–so every time she has damage from one of them, she blames it on our trees.  It was tough to do when her own tree fell on the roof of her sun porch, however, during the October 2011 storm.

With events like that, I can see why she’d be a bit frightened of her trees–but she also complains that her backyard is hotter than blazes in the summertime–as it would be without mature trees to shade it.

When some of our trees fell, or were topped by that October 2011 storm, I lamented that their cooling shade would be missed in the summer.  I tried to make lemonade from the lemons, thinking that I would have more sun in which to grow vegetables.

Despite the storm, however, most of the trees leafed out fully–some putting on much larger leaves because of their damage.  It certainly didn’t seem as if we had anymore sun–and that’s just fine.  I’ve grown used to living with our trees and would miss them if they were gone.

And, as an aside, although we did have several major large limbs that came down from our trees in the storm in 2011, they fell across the driveway.  We had to chainsaw them out of the way before we could snow-blow the foot of snow that had fallen–but that was the extent of the damage.  Even the oak limbs that fell on the garage roof didn’t damage it, thankfully (but boy were they an issue to remove!)

So I’m still good with my trees, unlike my neighbor.  I certainly hope most New Englanders share my sentiments–or we’ll start looking like a prairie!

10 thoughts on “Do You Fear Trees?

  1. I don’t fear trees but I do have a very healthy respect from them. I have many trees in my yard/garden and worry about damage caused to life and property during storms. But to cut them all down is absurd. They cool my garden, house, and planet. Their pro’s outweigh their con’s.

  2. Thanks for reading and commenting! I definitely agree about the “respect” part of your comment. I lecture a good deal on pruning and one of the first things I say is to go out and walk the yard, insepcting any deciduous trees when the leaves are off to see what might need to be pruned.

    And as for worry–I definitely agree there as well. Our western border is 267′ of badly maintained white pine (before we bought the house–while the trees were young.) The prior owner(s) let them develop split trunks, which makes them very weak–and of course they are shallowly rooted as well. A bad combination that makes me a little panicky in the very high winds we’ve had lately.

    But they are native trees and lots of wildlife uses them, including hummingbirds! So it’s hard to argue that they should come out.

    Happy New Year to you!

    Karla

  3. A global warming controversy still exists for a range of reasons.

    Regrettably, a lot of focus is placed on energy efficient vehicles and
    devices. We cannot use technology to refreeze disappearing glaciers or the ice caps, refill rivers, remake their entire ecology or stop rising
    oceans due to global warming.

  4. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Many thanks, However I am going through issues
    with your RSS. I don’t know the reason why I cannot subscribe to it. Is there anyone else having the same RSS problems? Anyone that knows the solution can you kindly respond? Thanx!!

    • Perhaps now that your comment has been approved you will be able to subscribe. WordPress has a pretty aggressive spam filter. Thanks for reading.

      Karla

  5. Heya! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers?

    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing many months
    of hard work due to no backup. Do you have any solutions to
    stop hackers?

  6. Hmm it looks like your site ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I
    guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any recommendations for rookie blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    • Sorry if you didn’t get posted the first time.

      If I had any suggestions, I think I would say just start writing. That’s the only way to begin. I think folks like photos, but they’re not a necessity with every post.

      One thing WordPress is great about is showing what folks are searching for so that if you see a lot of hits on your blog looking for a certain topic you can then post about that topic–that’s a feature I use all the time. It will be on your “Dashboard.”

      Good luck and thanks for reading!

      Karla

Leave a Reply

