Embracing The “Enemy”

Monday’s post was about how freeing it can be when you don’t weed (although I confess I would have preferred to have come to that realization through the brilliance of my mind rather than the frailty of my spine–but whatever).

I notice that a good number of my posts lately have been about weeds–I must be fixated on them, even though I am now able to get back to that chore.  It’s not that I don’t find plants beautiful–it’s just that “forest for the trees thing” perhaps.  I wonder if all gardeners are like this?

For example, there’s a very trendy burger place in West Hartford Center (supposedly also a very trendy place–I’m not much into that.)

I’ll often park in front of the burger place to go to the post office–they’re next to one another.  And when I get out of the car to walk the few feet to the mailbox, all I can notice about the burger restaurant’s plantings is that there are weeds prominently growing in front of their ornamental plantings–and not tiny weeds either!

I’ve deliberately shot this very low so that no one was visible in the photo but the leaves of the variegated hydrangea are partly visible in the photo as is a corner of the brick patio with its wrought iron rail.

The diners on the patio are probably having a lovely time eating and drinking and seeing and being seen.  It’s most likely only me fixating on the weeds!

My neighbors, too, seem to have embraced the weeds.  This neighbor seems to be prominently embracing the ground ivy and violets and using them as a ground cover in this bed around their arborvitae.

And remember burdock?  I featured it in my “Big Hulking Weeds” series I did earlier this summer.  Here it is in a different neighbor’s garden.  It looks almost sculptural (as I remember remarking even in that weeds post) between the shrubs.

So maybe there’s no need to be fanatical about getting out every last weed, big or small–but I would, if I were that burger joint, definitely pull those weeds in front of the hydrangeas!

2 thoughts on “Embracing The “Enemy”

  1. Weeds in West Hartford?? Oh my.

    Industrial (or shopping mall) plantings look so neglected, don’t they? A nice idea when installed, most commercial gardens quickly go pffft with neglect, and few shoppers or diners notice. But we do, don’t we?

  2. Shocking, isn’t it? No wonder Kiplinger’s didn’t rate West Hartford in the top 10 this year! So glad you commented–I know I’m not the only one! Thanks for reading Laurrie!

    Karla

Leave a Reply

