Earth Day Week

Earth Day was yesterday, technically, so I’m a bit behind.  But it’s been a month of extraordinary challenges for the people I love–so much so that I’ve been killing plants with neglect right and left.  It’s times like these that I realize what an extraordinary burden 150+ houseplants can be.

I also realize how beneficial gardening can be, not just to the earth but to the gardener.  The stress of the last month has been extraordinary but whenever I’ve had a bit of time to get out into the garden I’ve come back renewed and physically refreshed and better able to care for those I love.

So for Earth Week this week I’ll post photos of what’s coming up in my yard and renewing us both literally and physically. Enjoy!

White bleeding heart (digitalis spectabilis alba) growing by a stone wall near my pond

The bud of a tree peony.  I love these but the flowers stay open less than a week.  Very unrewarding.

Pink bleeding heart buds.

Time-worn garden stepping stone

Golden bleeding heart, celandine poppies and the effects of the drought–everything in my gardens is like dust, even in my heavy clay soil

8 thoughts on “Earth Day Week

  1. So sorry to hear it’s been a tough month. I hope things will get easier soon. I love the white bleeding heart. I only have pink ones–will have to keep my eyes open for a white one at this year’s plant sales.

    • The white ones are fabulous and they self-sow readily. I hope we’ll be coming back up to Maine this summer or early fall. If I can find mine by then, I’ll bring you a division! Karla

      • We’d love to see you too–and maybe get to see Jay this this time. We’ll keep you posted on our plans. Unfortunately, the Spoiler is a bit under the weather, along with my Mom. We were hoping to come up in June, but we’ll likely have to put that off until a little later on. We’ll see.

    • Thanks, Bridget. I’ve no idea how I stumbled on them, but I do like them–and they do self-sow readily so they’re easy to share with friends too. Nice plant!
      Karla

Leave a Reply

