Wordless Wednesday–Casualties of the Warm Winter

This weed wasn’t really on my radar until I spoke to a garden club last week and one of their members had brought it in for an ID.
“Oh yeah,” I remarked casually, “I’ve got that.  “I’ll go home and look it up in my weed book and get back to you.”

This is just a small sampling of the amount of hoary (or hairy) bittercress (cardamine hirsuta) that I have.  It’s supposed to be an annual but the warm winter allowed it to survive.  Yikes!

By the way, in the top photo, you’ll notice another troublesome weed–annual grass (poa annua)–that should also be pulled before it sets seed.

As I said last week, I am not ready to weed yet.  Looks like I’d better get at it anyway!

2 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday–Casualties of the Warm Winter

  1. Hi Bridget,
    A (very small) blessing with some of these invasive pests is that they are edible. Garlic mustard, another of the banes of my existence, is also edible. If I were to get really creative, I could open a garlic mustard pesto business–and probably never work for anyone else again!

    In the case of this one, I think it’s too late! I think it seeded last year–and you know the old saying: one year’s seeds, 7 years’ weeds. Oh well, just 6 more years of weeding to go!

    Thanks for reading!

    Karla

Leave a Reply

