Happy 2012!

Happy New Year!  And welcome to what, for most gardeners, is the darkest, dreariest part of the year.  So what is a person who loves to dig in the dirt supposed to do (besides count the birds and play with the houseplants I mean?)

I’m sure you all have many other interesting hobbies–I work on some of those too of course.  That’s one of the reasons I enjoy gardening in a place with seasons–to give me a chance to enjoy some of the hobbies I do have in the “non-gardening” season.

But gardening is really my joy and my passion (otherwise I’d be blogging about something else I suppose) so when I can’t garden for too long a time I get a little antsy.  One of the ways I solve that problem is by reading about gardening–not exactly the same thing as doing it but at least I can dream about it of course.

So for the next month, on the Monday and Friday posts, I’ll be telling you about some of the gardening books I’ve read or am reading.  I’ll tell you about the ones I’ve liked  and perhaps about ones I haven’t liked so well or ones I thought folks were overly enthusiastic about that I just didn’t see what the fuss was about.  And maybe together we can get through the bleakest part of the non-gardening season!

Leave a Reply

