More Gardening Myth De-Bunkers

Last week I wrote about how much I enjoy the writing of Jeff Gillman of the University of Minnesota.  He regularly blogs at a site called The Garden Professors with 3 other professors of horticulture–Linda Chalker Scott of the University of Washington (another great debunker–she even has pages of PDFs debunking all sorts of gardening myths at her own site), Holly Scoggins of Virginia Tech  and Bert Cregg of Michigan State (who has a piece in October’s Fine Gardening about the dos and don’ts of tree planting techniques).  And you don’t have to read too far to see who’s interested in what.

Chalker Scott is always podcasting–something I do not care for in a blog.  Needless to say, my longtime readers will notice I’m old-fashioned: I don’t do video and I don’t podcast and I don’t do YouTube (although I might link to it on occasion).  But that’s just me–I know a lot of younger folks like it.

Furthermore, these podcasts are long–around 30 minutes or so.  Sorry, but I don’t have that kind of time.  Now I know I could download them to an external device and listen to them somewhere else but you know what–when I’m away from my computer, I want to be away from my computer.  I’m not one of those you’ll meet walking in my neighborhood walking with the headphones attached to an iPod (does that surprise you?)  I’d like to hear good old-fashioned bird calls, thanks so much.  Please, let me unplug every so often.

Gilman does a bit of what he does in his books–riffs on sustainability and on “how much pesticide in the food is too much” were two recent columns.

Scoggins is a little harder to get a handle on but she seems to like puzzles and theme days.

And I would have said that Bert Clegg was a modern-day plant hunter based on his writings his summer–but perhaps that’s only because, as college professors do, summer is the time when they can attend far-flung conferences.  His most recent one took him to Europe and he wrote and posted some great photos from there in August.

Yet his most recent column for Fine Gardening in October was a Rules to Follow/Rules to Break sort of thing–hardly a plant adventurer type of column.  So perhaps I just haven’t read enough of his columns–or enough typical columns yet.

Still all the professors are worth a read and have something too say.  There’s always something to learn from this blog!

 

Leave a Reply

