Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day

Begonia grandis alba, one of my favorite late blooming perennials.  Be sure to remember where you planted them because the are very late to come back in the spring and you might accidentally cultivate over them (as I have done).  The bumblebees love them!

For comparison, the tuberous non-stop begonia.  fabulous color, but I can’t honestly say I’ve ever seen a bee go near it (s0 for those of you who are bee averse and who don’t mind planting annuals….)

A second bloom on my Invincibelle Spirit™ hydrangea.  There were actually several of these on the plant.  Pretty impressive.

Finally some self-sown goldenrod.  No idea where it came from but it’s making a pretty impressive show this year.  Almost every lovely arching frond of flowers had at least on bumblebee on it if not more.  I know that’s not a good thing to some of you folks but for me I find it just beautiful.

Also, goldenrod is one of the nectar plants for the monarchs that they fuel up on before heading south–so it you aren’t growing goldenrod, you may wish to consider it (and it is a myth that folks are allergic to goldenrod.  I have fall allergies so I know.  They are mostly allergic to grasses and ragweed.  But do not just take my word for it.  You can consult your own doctor of course–or check here as well.)

2 thoughts on “Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day

Leave a Reply

