Hurricane Aftermath

All in all, this could have been a lot worse.  Yes, it’s a mess to sweep up but thankfully, this time, we had no real damage, unlike so many of our neighbors.  Perhaps, for now, our vulnerable trees have come down–for now.

Our neighbor a few houses away wasn’t so lucky.  One of his maples–same vintage as ours–splintered and blocked our street for a while.  Here’s a view of the aftermath.

It looks a little more dramatic when you see more of what was left on the ground.

You can just see the beginnings of heartwood rot in the larger branches but it shows up more clearly in the smaller ones.  The tree was doomed–which was not outwardly visible.

Heartwood rot is that dark brownish black irregular mark in the middle of the trunk on the right.  It is exactly what it sounds like–the “rotting” of the “heart wood”  or the structural center of the tree.  Once  a tree has that, it pretty much needs to come down because it will come down in a storm.

It is almost undetectable with the naked eye.  Arborists can do tests for it but they rarely do.

Back on our property, these are they size and types of branches that came down for us–not a terrible clean-up by any means.And considering almost 700,000 in our state are without power, we are very lucky to be one of the ones with it!

While I was taking the pots back out of the garage, this little guy (actually, she’s not so little!) crawled out of one of them and ran up my arm.  Fortunately for her, and for the orchids I was carrying, I was near enough to the recycling container so I could set the plants down and shake her off.  There was a time when I was so arachnaphobic that I would have dropped everything and screamed my fool head off.  It took quite a lot not to do that today, actually–but I am fond of these large, bug eating spiders so I tried to hold it all together–and she even posed sort nicely for me.

So we are working on getting back to normal–I know so many others are far from normal at this point.  My thoughts and prayers are with them.

2 thoughts on “Hurricane Aftermath

  1. Laurrie,
    I’m glad to hear that! You hear so many awful stories–and after the winter that just was, it seems cruel that this storm came through too. Ah well–as gardeners know perhaps better than most, there’s no controlling nature.

    Karla

Leave a Reply

