Foliage Follow-Up–Hostas

This year I’ve added a lot of hostas to the yard.  I won’t show you the ones with the fragrant flowers.  They’re the only ones the deer came through and ate–go figure.  So I have no idea if the flowers are fragrant or not.  Maybe next year.

The only reason to grow them really, was for the fragrance–otherwise they’re just nondescript leaves–so it doesn’t really matter that the deer ate the leaves.  And they’re under a japanese maple which was why I chose that variety for that spot–I didn’t need pretty leaves there but I thought fragrance might have been nice.  Perhaps next year I’ll spray–or perhaps not.  We’ll see.

This is the one my husband “The Spoiler” chose for the new bed we put in.  I wasn’t crazy about it but it has grown up and filled in nicely–and the deer are avoiding it so that’s a plus.

This is the one I chose at the same time.  It’s grown a lot more slowly but it’s in a bed that dries out a lot more quickly.  We had 3 1/4″ of rain last week and when I was planting some more new hostas Saturday the bed was already like dust.  Amazing.

There’s also a lot of competition from tree roots and overhanging trees so naturally things will grow more slowly as well.  That’s fine.  I don’t need these things to take off in their first year anyway.

Once ‘Krossa Regal’ went in, I realized I had a big blank area that needed more hostas.  I was a little reluctant to add them after what had happened with the deer and my new fragrant ones, but I didn’t like looking at the bare dirt–and I figured I could always spray if I really had to.  So I added 3 additional hostas, complimenting ‘Krossa Regal’ and some unknown variegated variety that was there.  This one is called ‘August Moon.’

This is ‘Earth Angel’, the largest of the three.  If it reaches its potential, its spread could be 3-4.’  That may not happen in this soil.

And this is ‘Sun Power.’  No, I really didn’t need one for sun in this spot and I don’t think it will stay quite so chartruese-y (although I will be delighted if it does!)  I was going mainly for form here to match the form of ‘Krossa Regal.’

Finally, this is one of my all-time favorites, and, as you can see, quite a nice spreader.  It’s dwarf variety called ‘Kabitan.’

2 thoughts on “Foliage Follow-Up–Hostas

Leave a Reply

