A Vegetable Garden to Aspire To

I’ve been quite pleased with the way my raised bed is progressing.  The plants are growing beyond my wildest expectations–I’ve talked about and shown my “hedges” of parsley and the tomatoes and cucumbers are progressing nicely.  The tomatoes need staking–again–and they have several sets of flowers meaning that tomatoes can’t be too far behind.

And although the Spoiler didn’t get down the cool stainless steel spirals that I usually use to stake up the tomatoes (hence forcing me to use plain old bamboo) it seems to be working out just fine–except that some of my heirlooms are rapidly reaching the tops of those 7′ bamboo stakes.  Oh well.  It’s nice to have problems like those.

But as I mentioned in Thursday’s post, I had the occasion to go to Elizabeth Park earlier in the week. And after seeing their raised vegetable beds, I am feeling woefully inadequate.

You can see more of the Fleece Flower I raved about on Thursday on the far side of this garden.  Astonishing how large the clump is, isn’t it?

And I guess I should be grateful that I don’t need this lovely picket fence around my garden (surprisingly only the rabbits have nibbled so far, although just recently I’ve been seeing deer browse damage very near by.  Perhaps, like the Spoiler, they don’t like most vegetables).

And despite the fact that I haven’t used the black plastic mulch–or any mulch at all–things are growing like weeds in my garden and surprisingly very few weeds are growing.  I’m sure it will be a different story next season.

It’s really their elaborate trellises and support systems that I am envying–and they would be completely out of place in my much-smaller space.  In both cases, the supports had peppers growing on one side and tomatoes growing on the other.

Now I don’t doubt that this is a multi-purpose garden so perhaps earlier in the season, peas grew here.  Or perhaps last season, beans grew here–because I am sure they practice crop rotation as well.

But in any event, I was just struck by the orderliness and the loveliness of this garden–mine seems positively untidy by comparison!

6 thoughts on “A Vegetable Garden to Aspire To

  1. Order in the vegetable garden brings out the green-eyed-monster in me. It’s the same with herb gardens that look like knots and other designs. No reason vegetable gardens shouldn’t be artistic, but right now, I’m just happy to see something grow. Soon, Karla. Soon. We’ll get there! Your bed looks great, happy, bursting. Good job!

  2. Wendy,
    Thank you! Oh the garden is bursting all right–a little too much so! I know I should be grateful but I do envy those very orderly plots that look as if they are tended by un-natural fairies or something.

    I don’t know why I should be complaining when everything grows so well that I can hardly find the markers I put in to see the different kinds of tomatoes–particularly in my gardens where things do tend to struggle a bit.

    I guess I’ve just always envied those lovely kitchen gardens where everything was so beautifully manicured.. And again, I’m not sure why because that’s sure not my style in the rest of my yard. Ah well, I’ll just keep admiring from afar–and enjoying the “wildlife” type gardens I’ve created all over, including in the veggie patch.

    The journey is the best part of the process, right Wendy?

    Karla

  3. Hello, I think your garden is lovely just the way it is. I can’t believe your tomatoes are almost outgrowing 7 foot stakes. You should have loads of tomatoes soon.

  4. Karen,
    Thank you so much–and thanks for reading! This garden has exceeded my wildest expectations this year. I’m quite sure it’s the soil and compost I used for the bed (because it surely hasn’t been the weather!) and I suspect the fact that the bed is raised helps too.

    I’m already seeing little tomatoes forming–I can’t wait. Nothing like a good homegrown tomato.

    Karla

  5. Simply wish to say your article is as surprising. The clarity for your submit is just excellent and i can think you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to seize your RSS feed to stay updated with forthcoming post. Thank you a million and please continue the rewarding work.

Leave a Reply

